10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2009 12:24 AM by Mylenium

Video Card Question

I'm new to After Effects CS4 and about to upgrade my video card. My current card is an NVIDIA 7100 at 128MB. I'm curious what memory level people have seen After Effects start to run more smoothly at (in HD). For example, the card in my price range has 768MB. I have to assume that this will be a significant upgrade, though I still don't expect it to run at the full frame rate (rate now I'm getting about 5 fps as opposed to 29.97, which is just WAY to slow... also, in premiere I can't watch my HD footage smoothly, which is a pain).

Oh, and the other spec's on my computer: 2gigs ram, dual core... average for a computer a few months old.
        • 1. Re: Video Card Question
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional
          I would suggest that any contemporary video card with 256MB of RAM or more should have more than enough juice for AE. OpenGL functionality in AE is vastly over-rated, and expectations of video cards often run way too high.

2GB of RAM is marginal for AE, and definitely too low if you expect to use multicore processing. If you have 2 processor cores, you should have 4 to 8 GB of RAM for optimum performance. Drive speed is also a major factor when working in HD, particularly in Premiere. Investigate using multiple drives in a striped RAID configuration for better HD performance. Your money is better spent on RAM and/or drives than the latest-and-greatest display card.

Full resolution HD previews in AE can be a bit flaky, even on the best hardware. Be prepared to work at half-HD resolution when possible, to gain longer preview times and better performance.
          • 2. Re: Video Card Question
            Level 1
            Thanks, Andrew, that's very helpful.

Regarding the additional harddrive, is it useful to use an external via firewire? I don't have a slot for an additional internal drive.
            • 3. Re: Video Card Question