8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2009 2:33 PM by LudaDave

Repeated frames when time remapping AVCHD clips in AE

LudaDave
      I will try to explain the best I can. Keep in mind I am a novice and by no means highly technical. First some background: I edit sports video for college bound athletes. I put together highlight videos for them. When I am filming I start/stop the camera at the beginning/end of a play so I can easily identify/edit "clips". I have imported 10 AVCHD "clips" from my Sony HDR-SR11 to a Premiere Pro CS4 project. I am using the "AVCHD 1080i anamorphic/29.97fps" sequence setting as my output for this project will be a 1440x1080 mepeg2 file. So I get my clips in the timeline add some transitions, no major edits, render the work area and playback. Everything looks fine, all clips play smooth. Now here's the rub. I want to freeze play, highlight an athlete then continue play. To do this I am using AFTER EFFECTS (NOTE I have done this with HDV footage off my Canon HV20 camera with no problems) so anyway with the new CS4 edition I can right click on a clip in my timeline and choose "replace with after effects composition"....I do and the clip migrates to AE into a a composition ready for me to work my magic. So my method for freezing play is select the "clip" in the composition, Ctrl-Alt-T for time remapping. I add 5 seconds to the duration of the composition since I am going to add time when I freeze the clip. I find the point in the clip where I want to freeze it. I place a "time remap" keyframe at that point. I then drag my mouse to highlight the keyframe I just placed and the keyframe at the end of the clip......I drag them to the right 2 seconds, then cut/paste the keyframe I added which is placed by the CTI (which is still at the original point). Now I have a 2 second freeze in play. I add a white solid and do some masking to highlight the athlete during that freeze. And that's it.....I press "O" then "N" to define the work area then I choose "t