5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2008 5:30 PM by Andrew Yoole

Covering portions of moving image

Can anyone tell me the simplest method by which I can cover over areas of a video image? I have a 1 minute long animated piece that is in .AVI format in Premiere Pro 2.0. It involves a number of characters that have pit-crew like uniforms with many logos on them. I need to cover over these logos in a way that leaves the color of their uniforms intact. While I am fairly proficient with PPro 2.0 I'm a real newbie in the AE world so please be as detailed as possible with any response, and thank you very much in advance! ;)
        • 1. Re: Covering portions of moving image
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          There's nothing simple about it. You have to rotoscope it out frame by frame. You use either paint tools or masks, but that doesn't change the fact that it's gonna take time. In fact probably more time than finishing the rest of the project. This will be further compounded by the fact that you speak of "many logos", which will turn this into a major nightmare if you indeed plan on retaining the color and structure of the jumpsuits. IMO you'd be much better off by outsourcing this to an experienced roto-artist (not necessarily AE) or external facility or otherwise you'll just end up with grinding teeth... 1 minute is a lot of footage for this kind of work.

Mylenium
          • 2. Re: Covering portions of moving image
            Level 1