4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2008 4:42 AM by (Jerry_Chambless)

Photograph Separation

This is my first time coming across thing sort of a project, but I have a client that wants a foreground person & a middleground person cut or masked away from the background of a digital photograph that the client has taken.

They then want the two people to move independently of the background photograph in Z space without revealing the obvious holes in the background. They have no clean background plates to work with, only the photograph which is fairly cluttered.

Any suggestions?

Thanks, Jerry
        • 1. Re: Photograph Separation
          bogiesan-gyyClL Level 3
          The technique gets discussed often in AE forums. Try googling "the kid stays in the picture" for several sites that cover variations.

Your biggest issue is filling the holes. A photo restoration expert could do it for several hundred dollars or you could do it yourself by tearing your hair out. It's not difficult to perform basic cloning operations in Photoshop but making the holes look natural requires skills I know I do not have.

I'd find out what this is worth to you and then find out what it's worth to your client. The examine your Photoshop skills and see if you can pull it of on your own. I'm guessing these few seconds of screen time will consume 60-80% of the cost and effort in the whole projwct.

bogiesan
          • 2. Re: Photograph Separation
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant