4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2008 3:57 PM by Soulbot

Compositing - Channel Mixer Help

I've been using AE now for a few years, (since v5.5) and mostly use it for motion graphics. Using CS3 now. But right now, I'm beginning to work through Steve Wright's book, <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Compositing-Film-Video-Second/dp/024080760X">Digital Compositing for Film and Video</a> to focus more on true compositing.

The author's aim is to keep the lessons application-independent and present concepts in a way that would be applicable to most software packages. (However, considering the author's frequent references to "nodes" and his well-known status as a Shake user & <a href="http://movielibrary.lynda.com/html/modPage.asp?ID=408">Shake instructor</a>, it's apparent that using Shake, while reading this book, would lead to the least bumps in the road, when attempting to follow along.)

But I'm not using Shake, I'm using AE and have encountered a small bump in the road. Regarding luma keys he mentions how luma values are represented in the individual colors R,G,B. To cut to the chase, he says, "One standard equation that mixes the right proportions of RGB values to create a luminance image on a color monitor is:
      Luminance = 0.30R + 0.59G + 0.11B"

Great. But I can't figure exactly how to mix the RGB values with the above proportions in AE. It's quite easy & straight-forward in Photoshop, using the Channel Mixer. <a href="http://www.geocities.com/kevincbrock/channel_mixer.png">Example here</a>. But AE's Channel Mixer does not seem to work quite the same way as it's counterpart in PS. There are values there, for instance, "Red-Red", but they seem to run in values from -200 to 200, not percentages, like PS. So my question is, how do I achieve the same channel mixing results in AE that I can in PS?