10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2008 6:32 PM by (William_Hilsum)

Each time MPG is reloaded, the frames are diffrent :(

Hi

I am new to after effects, I have a 1min 20sec movie, and there is about 30 seconds I need to edit frame by frame in order to remove a tiny little element.

I have been manually going through the movie on each frame and doing composition > save frame as > photoshop layers...

I then manually edit the file, import the psd, and drag on to the timeline to replace a frame. I then make the movie go to the bottom layer, so where there is a individual frame, it will take priority over the movie.

Everything was going ok, but then I noticed that some of the edited frames did not line up to the originals, and I had no clue why.

I thought that I had done something wrong like named a file wrong and placed it in the wrong place on the timeline, then when I got everything perfect, I saved.

When I reloaded the project, to my horror, it didnt sync up again on certain points.

I have no idea why, and after trying loads of diffrent things, I have seen that each time I right cick on the movie and choose reload, for some reason, certain frames in the movie change and go to diffrent points.

I have no clue why it is doing this, but I have waisted over 15 hours trying (and redoing) this movie, and I have no idea how to fix this.

Does anyone know why it is doing this, and how I can fix it?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Each time MPG is reloaded, the frames are diffrent :(
          Level 1
          Hey William,
          MPG is not a stable, professional format. Your experience shows why. Before you bring the MPG into AE, transcode it to a stable CoDec, like an Animation compressed Quicktime, for instance.

-steven
          • 2. Re: Each time MPG is reloaded, the frames are diffrent :(
            David Wigforss-Hv1BNN Level 2
            Well, it sure is a professional format, but it's for delivery, not intermediate editing. ie it's lossy and heavily compressed.