29 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2008 4:15 AM by Newsgroup_User

CSS LAYOUTS = ????:S????

cripaustin Level 1
      Hi. I'm a newbie when it comes to CSS layouts. I know my CSS styles to an extent..but I have only just been reading about layouts. When reading DW Help, they suggested that I use one of their own CSS layouts as it can be hard to get a successful, good looking, cross-browser CSS Layout of your own design.
      Trusting this tip, I went ahead and chose a DW CSS layout. This was my first real go with div tags and it made me think.

Every one says CSS layouts are much better than tables...
      If so. Why is it that CSS layouts are so much harder to work..and can often lead to messy pages in other browsers?

When using CSS layouts, i found that what i saw in Design view was nothing like what i saw in IE on preview.

Am I right in saying that if you use tables, and you want to have a white central colum as your page, you just centre the table and its no problem. With CSS layouts, is there even a way to have a central column, or will it just change its horizontal position as soon as someone comes along with a different browser or different screen resolution?

Is there an easy way to put backgrounds to a layer?

From what DW Help says...it implies that anything I do (like drawing in my own Div tags) will result in some sort of screw up in cross-browser viewing and different screen resolutions.

I have read people saying not to use tables but to use CSS layouts. Im trying to believe this but so far the journey hasnt been fun.

Can anybody give me a simple "down low" of what Im doing wrong...or what i'm missing.?
      Thanks
        • 1. Re: CSS LAYOUTS = ????:S????
          Level 7
          > Every one says CSS layouts are much better than tables...
          > If so. Why is it that CSS layouts are so much harder to work..and can
          > often
          > lead to messy pages in other browsers?