5 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2008 5:50 AM by (Kugar13)

Still new to AE questions

Level 1
      Hey guys,

This is my second time using AE, so I'm still kind of new to it. I've got a few questions, if you don't mind...

1) How do you remove an effect from an adjustment layer without deleting an adjustment layer?

2) Can you add multiple effects to an adjustment layer? If so, can you turn them off and on individually?

3) If you import a file from Premiere Pro 2.0 will the changed to the material update in Premiere?

4) Can you tab in the timeline between adjustment layers (similar to tabbing in premiere between clips)?

5) What setting do you use to export the footage using identical setting used in import (items imported via: import > file, and dynamic link)?

Thanks guys!!!!!

Kugar
        • 1. Re: Still new to AE questions
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          >1) How do you remove an effect from an adjustment layer without
          >deleting an adjustment layer?

As you would any other - select it in the effect controls panel or timeline (hit E to reveal effects for selected layers) and delete

>2) Can you add multiple effects to an adjustment layer? If so, can >you turn them off and on individually?

Of course. Any layer in AE can hold an unlimited number of effects. To disable them temporarily, use the small fx toggle buttons associated with each effect.

>3) If you import a file from Premiere Pro 2.0 will the changed to the >material update in Premiere?

No. All items will become native AE items after that and AE looses all knowledge that the were ever imported this way. This is strictly a one way ticket.

>4) Can you tab in the timeline between adjustment layers (similar to >tabbing in premiere between clips)?

You can walk the clips by using the timeline navigation shortcuts. Look them up in the help files. Just walking up and down the layer stack can be done using Ctrl+the arrow keys for up and down