7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2008 5:58 PM by (Leha_Carpenter)

Work flow

Level 1
      I searched through the FAQs and did a forum search but came up with nothing (surprisingly).

I am relatively new to AE and was wondering what the proper work flow is? Here is my situation:

I have a 15 minute segement in which it goes between a studio green screen shot and to the floor for interviews etc. sort of like an NFL draft or Iron Chef ha. All of my green screen shots are still with a green background and I haved finished laying out the full segement. Now it is time to convert the green screen shots into that of one with a background.

Should I export the entire project and work with JUST the green screen shots? If so, how do you isolate these shots to work just with them after a full export?

Or, do I load the original footage from the project menu into AE to edit then? Like I said, I'm trying to keep this as easy as possible and figured I'd start by asking the pro's here.

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Work flow
          Level 1
          AE is best suited for working with short scenes or shots. I use dynamic link to isolate separate elements from Premiere Pro or simply copy the shots that I want to enhance or modify and paste them into After Effects. Copy and paste is probably used about 75% of the time. Once the shots are finished I bring them into my NLE and replace the existing footage. On rare occasions I'll bring an entire sequence or scene into AE to process or enhance, but this scene is all ready at the final edit stage. The only time I bring an entire program into AE is for final color grading. In that case I bring in the rendered final cut and not the entire sequence so I only have one layer to deal with.