4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2008 1:02 PM by (musa_musa)

expressions and scripting

Level 1
      Hi
      I've several questions about programming in Ae
      And I hope to find answers with you
      1- What are the differences between : expressions and scripting ???
      2- I'm not a programmer , so , can I be proficient in expressions ? and how ?
      3- again , I'm not programmer
      can I learning Java script ?
        • 1. Re: expressions and scripting
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          Expression = custom programmed function that controls a single property (e.g. position, scale or rotation) in a sandboxed environment that does not allow it to see the "big picture", i.e. it usually does not know or care what other items do nor is it aware of the overall project structure and thus cannot manipulate it. Expressions evaluate for every frame to determine their values and are strictly meant as a different way of animation.

Scripting = Script interpreter engine that runs inside AE (or other Adobe programs) and can use variables and functions to trigger "reflections" (script command names of underlying program functions) that will mimic parametrtized user behavior. E.g. scripts can create masks just like you would draw them yourself by defining the mask points' coordinates in the code. Scripts are usually only run once and don't interact with other animation and effects.

As for learning: simply pick up a good book on generic JavaScript. Expressions and Scripts use the same syntax and functions. The only real difference is the use of dedicated functions, reserved keywords and variables which is pretty much what is laid out in the scripting guide that comes with AE or the functions available thru the expressions popup menu, respectively.

Mylenium
          • 2. Re: expressions and scripting
            Todd_Kopriva Level 8