11 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2008 12:17 PM by (Why_atl)

Flash or After Effect?

Level 1
      I am new to the CS3 collection. I'm confused on what's the difference between flash and After Effect?, and why do I need both? I want to create animation and image reels for my clients website, but don't know which software to use. Any help u give would be really helpful.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Flash or After Effect?
          Ko Maruyama User Group Manager
          They are two very different applications and handle the method of producing animation differently.

What kind of animation are you trying to create? Do you want to make interactive animations? Do you want to make bitmap heavy animations?
          • 2. Re: Flash or After Effect?
            Level 1
            hello Ko. Thanks for responding. To be honest I have know idea what's an bitmap heavy animation? So I'll just say both (I'll just look up bitmap animation, while i wait for your reply). I know I want it to move, dance and look cool and fun and interact with other objects. In the end, I just don't want these software sitting on my computer when I've paid top dollar for the whole CS3 master collection. I'm excited! I want to Wow people! with my work.
            • 3. Re: Flash or After Effect?
              Ko Maruyama User Group Manager
              bitmap animation contains sources like QuickTimes, AVIs, Photoshop docs, JPEGS

Flash is strong with vector animation (Illustrator, path data).

Flash can handle bitmap images too - - it's just that usually, you'd use it to create more file-size light animations.

In Flash you can also do a ton of scripting to make those animations interactive as well.

There are two separate applications for good reason, they serve different animation projects.... you might need both!
              • 4. Re: Flash or After Effect?
                Level 1
                Can you give us some examples of the kind of work you want to do? On the web? On TV or movies?