4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2008 11:09 AM by Mylenium

Need understanding bout Auto trace function

Level 1
      hi.. ive problems understanding the real purpose of auto trace.. im actually new to AE.. i can understand keying out the background.. but what if i want to key out a background which is not the empty blue/green matte.. is auto trace the right tool to use? if yes.. how? tq in advance
        • 1. Re: Need understanding bout Auto trace function
          Dan Jacobsen Level 1
          auto trace automatically draws a mask around an area. this area can be defined by luminance, red, green, blue or alpha.

this is useful if you need to edit a shape that is based on an area in a frame.

for example, you can use auto trace on a line of text to change it into a few masks on a white solid. you can then pull vertices out to give it a distorted look. Set the channel to alpha for this.

or set the channel to luminance to let it draw around a lighter part of of screen, perhaps the sky, and generate a mask for the sky. because it's then a mask you can tweak it or animate it

it's probably not what you're after. it sounds like you need to cut something out that isn't a different colour or lum to the bgnd.

what is it exactly? maybe you need to rota scope it. which is manually drwing a mask around an object then animating it manually.

ps. i love the way colour shows up as a spelling mistake!
          • 2. Re: Need understanding bout Auto trace function
            David Wigforss-Hv1BNN Level 2
            Auto Trace is very similar to using the magic wand in PS and converting the selection to a Path. Actually, I wish they'd bring the wand into AE, it would make things much easier than trying to key out the BG (in order to generate the alpha for Auto Trace).