4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2008 6:57 AM by bogiesan-gyyClL

Using After Effects for Pans and Zooms of Photos

Hello

I am a WWII filmmaker in need of reliable software to edit a series of archival photos. I've been quite frustrated at the poor results of the Keyframe Engine in Final Cut Pro. I also bought a FCP 'Plug In' called Lyric Pan and Zoom. The Plug In was somewhat helpful, but the render time is terrible.

I've been told that After Effects is one of the most reliable and most professional applications to apply Panning and Zooming of photos.

I'd like to explore After Effects for this purpose. I understand that (like FCP), you can export a Quik Time File for import into FCP.

Thanx for your comments
      Mike

http://www.ww2survivorstories.com
        • 1. Re: Using After Effects for Pans and Zooms of Photos
          Navarro Parker Level 3
          If all you are doing is "Ken Burns" style pans and zooms of still photos, I'd recommend FotoMagico over AfterEffects.

http://www.boinx.com/fotomagico/features/

http://www.boinx.com/fotomagico/screencast/

As much as I love AE, it's overkill for something like this. FotoMagico is far more focused and automated (and quite a bit cheaper). Plus it can handle any resolution, does motion blur, field rendering and output to Quicktime.
          • 2. Re: Using After Effects for Pans and Zooms of Photos
            Level 1
            Hi Navarro

Thank you for the response. I've seen discussions about Fotomagico on the Apple forums. It's been compared to another similar program called Photo to Movie. I tried Photo to Movie but quickly noticed that it solved the 'Jaggies' by sacrificing crispness and sharpness. The Jaggies, (as you may know), is a pesty problem inherent in iMovie. If the edge of the photo is seen, it appears to Jag the edges as it moves/pans/zooms etc...