11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2008 8:39 AM by bogiesan-gyyClL

Final Cut User > After FX Newbie. A few questions...

hi guys. an After Effects newbie here. after using Final Cut Express for years, i've decided to give After FX a try as well.

a couple of quick questions...

1. is there a crop tool? how do i crop a picture? can i somehow drag edges and crop an image like in Final Cut?

2. is it possible to copy and paste effects from one sequence to another, instead of applying the same effects separately to each layer/sequence every time? (in Final Cut, the keyboard command for that is Option+V, as opposed to Command+V. is there a similar thing in After FX?

3. when splitting a layer, is it not possible to keep its bits on the same video track? why does splitting a layer create new tracks? i don't want that :-(

i'd appreciate it if you could reply.
        • 1. Re: Final Cut User > After FX Newbie. A few questions...
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
          >1. is there a crop tool? how do i crop a picture? can i somehow drag
          >edges and crop an image like in Final Cut?

No. You use masks for that and/or adjust the composition size. Nested compositions can be fitted into parent comps to compensate, if necessary.

>2. is it possible to copy and paste effects from one sequence to
          >another, instead of applying the same effects separately to each
          >layer/sequence every time? (in Final Cut, the keyboard command for
          >that is Option+V, as opposed to Command+V. is there a similar thing
          >in After FX?

Of course - just the same. Copy&paste. These procedures are context sensitive, so it may be important to select the effects properly first and/or the properties to be inserted. Frequently used settings can be saved to presets and re-applied.

http://livedocs.adobe.com/en_US/AfterEffects/8.0/WS3878526689cb91655866c1103906c6dea-7c36. html

>3. when splitting a layer, is it not possible to keep its bits on