25 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2009 1:55 AM by PECourtejoie

What good are the preview JPEGs? (newbie question)

Dear Folks,

I'm new to converting raws to DNGs, and I can't seem to find any use for the preview JPEGs that DNG converter can embed in the file.

Mac OSX (10.4.11) doesn't display them in Finder windows (Icon view mode). Get Info windows can show me a small preview whether or not I embed a JPEG. Mac OSX's Preview program can't display DNG files whether or not JPEGs are embedded in them. I don't see any difference in the functionality of Bridge and Photoshop whether they're there or not.

That pretty well describes my entire photo workflow, so if previews really are irrelevant to it, seems to me I might as well leave them out and save a little processing time and disk space.

Am I missing something obvious? (probably)

Thanks!

Ctein
        • 1. Re: What good are the preview JPEGs? (newbie question)
          PECourtejoie Adobe Community Professional
          Ctein, something is not normal, as Preview in Tiger is supposed to display DNGs correctly: http://www.barrypearson.co.uk/articles/dng/products.htm
          I remember some "raw format" updates to Os X, look on Apple's website.
          What version of what software did you use to create the DNGs?
          • 2. Re: What good are the preview JPEGs? (newbie question)
            Level 1
            Dear PE,

Hmmmm. Suspected might be such.

Still on CS3 for Bridge/Photoshop, but running latest version of DNG Converter (5.2.0.65) as a stand-alone.

MacOS is at 10.4.11, version of Preview is 5.2.0.65, iPhoto is at 7.1.

Numerous sources, including Apple's website, confirm that these versions of iPhoto and Preview *SHOULD* be able to handle the DNG files. Strong implication, reading Apple's notes on Tiger OS updates (which I'm current on), is that this capability is inherent in the standard build (the updates fixed display glitches, didn't add the capability).