7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2008 6:09 PM by jag57

What am I missing?

jeremybixby
      Hi,

I am new to flex, but I know java and javascript. I am trying to move some comboBox mxml components into a separate file. I made the necessary comboBoxes in separate files, and then when I specify a reference to a comboBox, I get no prompt telling me to autocomplete. It further tells me that Flex:

"Could not resolve <components:cboFile> to a component implementation."

What is going on here? I of course reference the namespace with:

xmlns:giscomponents = "GISComponents.*"

Not sure what this is about. Probably something similar. I would appreciate any ideas...
        • 1. Re: What am I missing?
          jag57
          You declared the namespace to be "giscomponents," but from the error message it seems you are trying to refer to them using the namespace "components." Try changing the namespace to "components."
          • 2. Re: What am I missing?
            jeremybixby Level 1
            Thanks for responding. I changed the "Could not resolve" message to be more generic and I forgot to change the code that I posted in the message.
            • 3. Re: What am I missing?
              jag57 Level 1
              Could you provide some context to your code? It would be helpful to see where you are trying to use your component.
              • 4. Re: What am I missing?
                jeremybixby Level 1
                I make a new mxml component based on a comboBox, and I put all the code for that in a seperate file called "GISComponents" in a different folder. Here is the code for that:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
                <mx:ComboBox xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml">
                <mx:dataProvider>
                <mx:String> Item1 </mx:String>
                <mx:String> Item2 </mx:String>
                <mx:String> Item3 </mx:String>
                </mx:dataProvider>
                </mx:ComboBox>