9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2009 5:29 PM by Kurvah

PE4 & .avi files & MPEG-2 Files from Camcorders

HI.  I have recently acquired a Sony DCR-SR220 camcorder (which has led me into a "research project" to insure I have everything set up as best as possible).  The files from the Sony DCR-SR220 are in MPEG-2 format.  I am a football coach and I slow the video down to 40% of original so I can study the kids in action and see what needs to be "fixed" with our team.  I need to have slow moving video which is as smooth as possible.  I might also do PIP or other similar effects in the slow motion video.  My previous camcorder, Sony DCR-TRV280, was tape.  PE4 would capture it as .avi and I could manipulate these files to great affect.  Now, it is appearing as when I slow down the DCR-SR220's MPEG-2 files - the motion is herky-jerky. Herky-jerky being defined as seeing the core object in one frame and then a "ghost" of the object behind it and a ghost of the object in front of the core object in the direction of movement.

- Is this "herky-jerky ghosting of an object in motion" caused by the video coming from the Sony DCR-SR220 camcorder being more compressed than .avi?

- I have heard that PE4 works best with .avi files??

- If that is the case, should I import my MPEG-2 files into PE4 and convert them to .avi and then edit them and then burn my DVD??

If anyone can enlighten me, I would appreciate it.

• 1. Re: PE4 & .avi files & MPEG-2 Files from Camcorders
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You're going to run into jerkiness issues when you slow MPEGs. It's kind of the nature of the MPEGs. Unlike AVIs, MPEGs use master frames (called I-frames) followed by several frames that borrows video information from those I-frames. That means not every frame is a complete frame -- so doing a time stretch could be challenging.