7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2009 2:24 AM by dhamu.dharan

Silent Install of HUB.AIR

We have Acrobat 9 and AIR installed on Vista PC's.  I am looking for a way to silently install HUB.AIR

• 1. Re: Silent Install of HUB.AIR
          jbenson@oper8 Level 2

If you complete a redistribution agreement with Adobe you can redistribute the runtime and use the runtime to perform a semi silent install.  (I say

semi-slient because the user still has to accept the Adobe's EULA )

Redistrubtion agreement http://www.adobe.com/products/air/runtime_distribution1.html

The AdobeAirInstaller file has a silent parameter that will allow you to push the runtime and an application to be installed.  I'm not an expert on this so I can't say how foolproof / easy it is.

http://blogs.adobe.com/simplicity/2008/05/air_enterprise_deployment.html

"Documentation on silent installs is made available when you sign up to redistribute AIR, which if course you need to do to use the silent install. See the redistribution site linked from the main entry."

• 2. Re: Silent Install of HUB.AIR
            Level 1

OK - we have signed the redistribution agreement...... still can't find any information on how to install HUB.air silently.....

• 3. Re: Silent Install of HUB.AIR

I was asking the same question and it took me the entire day to finally figure out how to do it. And the solution is frustratingly easy, it's the documentation that is hard to find.

The document that explains what you want to do is here (I don't remember how I found it):

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/AIR/1.5/air_runtime_redist/air_runtime_redist.pdf

But even after reading that I wasn't clear on how to do it, just that it could be done. Then I finally figured out that the redistributable you download (AdobeAIRInstaller.exe) is not only used to deploy the runtime files, but also to deploy any .air applications you want.

To deploy a .air file you just add the path to that file after the AdobeAIRInstaller.exe comand.