9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2009 8:18 AM by the_wine_snob

Very Low on Virtual Memory- PE7

Hi, I'm new to editing my videos - well save for windows moviemaker if that counts. I'm not tech-y but have tried to fix this issue I via help pages and other threads, but this hasn't worked so I hope someone will be happy to please offer their expertise. I've checked the system requirements and I meet them - (1gig ram etc etc). I've also tried following the instructions in this adobe help link:

http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb404939&sliceId=1

But this has made no difference. PE7 can take up to 5 minutes to load and open the project I'm working on. I barely start to do anything and I get the error message noted in the topic title and from that point it runs so badly I have no choice but to shut it down, wait a few minute or remove the process via task manager and then open again. Shortly after opening - same problem. It makes editing a nightmare and playback - well forget getting far along with that. Task Manager shows it uses a huge amount of Physical Memory. I'm really frustrated and getting pointlessly angry at it. Please, if someone could help I'd be very very grateful.

• 1. Re: Very Low on Virtual Memory- PE7
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Low memory issues are most commonly related to your source files, Sal.

What type of camcorder did your video come from and how did you get it into your computer?

Converting the files may be necessary.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Very Low on Virtual Memory- PE7
            Level 1

Hi Steve, thanks for the reply, cheers :-)

I'm using AVI which I loaded from a friend's old camcord. moviemaker refuses to even open them. Although 2 of the videos came from a digi cam and there are images in there as well. I'm trying to learn PE7 whilst also making my friends an amateur montage of their holiday. PE7 says AVI is compatible.