4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2008 9:43 AM by manatee87

How does user open web-based AIR application?

manatee87
      I'm brand new to AIR, and possibly asking an absurd question, but here I go...

Since an AIR application is web-based, but not accessed through a web browser, how does an end user start the application? I'm thinking of an entirely AIR-based business application, where the user starts out with something like a main menu, which then calls various business functions.

With a web-based app, the user enters a URL into the browser and the the page is requested from the server. Without a browser, how does the user request that first .swf file that starts the application? Does there need to be a piece of the application installed on each workstation for accessing the rest of the app?

So far I've only been playing with AIR via Flex Builder directly on my workstation -- not via a web server, so I start up my app just by running it right from my workstation. I want to convert an exiting web app to AIR, and I don't want to have to install anything (aside from the AIR runtime) on each workstation. I want to be able to deploy updates to the app just to the web server.

Am I picturing the architecture all wrong?

Thanks.

Peter
        • 1. Re: How does user open web-based AIR application?
          TheDude7563 Level 1
          The user downloads a .air file, and then install's the application in his/her Start Manu (win)/Applications folder(osx).

Just like any other application.
          • 2. Re: How does user open web-based AIR application?
            manatee87 Level 1
            Thanks.

So they need be given a link to the server and directory where the application is stored, similar to when I give them a URL that they save as a "Favorite" in their browsers. Then it downloads the current version of the .swf file to their workstation if their cached version is out of date. Is this right?
            • 3. Re: How does user open web-based AIR application?