4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2009 10:17 AM by jrkamen

Adding Narration to video

I am new to elements 4 and have gotton through a lot of things but this one got me.

I have been trying to add a narration to my video with no success.  I have a how to book that has helped a lot but I think this problem is either my computer or the software.

I want to delete the audio that was originally recorded and add a narrarion and then probably a music soundtrack.

The narratiion first.  My microphone works in windows so that is not the problem.  Also says the computer is probably working properly.  Elements recognizies the usb microphone in the add narration window.  I start recording but the light on the mic does not blink as it does in windows and I just get static when i play it back.  Also even though I muted the Audio 1 sound track, it still plays.  I have followed step by step instructions and nothing works.  Does anyone have a clue as to what I might be doing wrong?  Should I re-install the software?  If I do, will I loose all my work?

• 1. Re: Adding Narration to video
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Go to Premiere Elements Edit menu, select Preferences and Audio Hardware. Click on the ASIO settings and ensure that your microphone is properly set up there.

Some USB microphones won't work. But most standard microphones do, if they are correctly set up in the ASIO settings.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Adding Narration to video
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Yes, USB mics seem to be hit-or-miss, with a lot of "misses."