4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2009 5:49 AM by Steve Grisetti

removing effect from a still photo

rtdavide Level 1

hello all,

i'm new to video editing and had tried windows movie maker, but a friend with premiere turned me on to PE so i picked up PE7 and have been working with it.most everything has been fairly straightforward, but this one thing doesn't seem to match what is supposed to be there:

when i put a clip in the timeline and apply an effect by dragging it on to the clip in the timeline, i see the effect occuring in the monitor panel, but it doesn't show in the task panel. per the help file, i select the clip i want, i see it in the task panel, i select the fx button but there are no effects listed in the panel to the right.

if i want to remove effects from the clip, i'm supposed to find it to the right and drag it to the trashcan, but it aint showing up where it's supposed to be.

any ideas why this might by happening or what i'm doing wrong?

as it is now, i don't have a way to remove an effect from a clip..

thanks,

dave

if it makes any difference, it's vista ultimate, let's see.... a q6600 quad-core processor and 4 gigs of ram, but i don't think that should have any bearing here

• 1. Re: removing effect from a still photo
          Paul_LS Level 4

To see the Effects that you have added you need to view the clips Properties Panel. In PE7 you click on the clip in the Timeline to select it, then click the Properties icon, it is above the Timeline, over to the left next to the slider. Otherwise left click on the clip and select Show Properties. The Properties panel will appear and the effects are listed there. To delete an effect, select it in the Properties panel and hit delete, or left click on the effect and select clear.

Note if you apply a motion or picture-in-picture preset you will not see any applied effect as these effects make use of the Motion effect which is bu default always in the Properties panel.