12 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2008 7:07 AM by adam@blueapplestudio

Create Mask

adam@blueapplestudio Level 1
      I have a cast member on stage (“Block”), and need to mask out different parts of it using a cast member not on the stage (“Hole”). Sometimes I need to mask out 3 holes in different locations, and sometimes just one hole.

I am just starting out with masks and can’t even seem to get rolling. I am using JavaScript, and the below code returns a “Property not found. #mask” error. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Any help is appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Create Mask
          Level 7
          Some time ago I made a game, and part of the game involved something
          very similar. There is a picture and on top of the picture is a black
          "mask". The user could cut "holes" in the mask to reveal parts of the
          underlying picture. The code I wrote allowed the holes to be rectangles,
          circles, polygons and freehand drawn irregular shapes.

It is written in regular Lingo (not javascript) but I can send you the
          part of the program that contains the code if you like. I imagine it
          will take some effort to dig out the the relevant parts, because there
          is more in there than just what you are looking for.

In a nutshell, it maintains a list of "holes", which was really a list
          of the vertices of vector shapes. It would then start with a solid black
          bitmap cast member (the mask) and cut out the holes using imaging lingo
          (extractAlpha, copyPixels, useAlpha, setAlpha, etc).

If interested email me at d g c w e b AT b e l l s o u t h DOT n e t

adam@blueapplestudio wrote:
          > I have a cast member on stage (?Block?), and need to mask out different parts
          > of it using a cast member not on the stage (?Hole?). Sometimes I need to mask
          > out 3 holes in different locations, and sometimes just one hole.
          >