5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2009 4:47 PM by David Stiller

animated symbol won't work in timeline but works when you publish?

I am a Flash beginner and am using the Classroom in a Book for Flash CS4.

I've been doing fine, except for a problem that I'm not sure is from software, or whether I am missing a setting.

I just learned how to animate a symbol and the animation works fine when I play it within the symbol editing timeline (it is an alien waving it's arms), but when I click out of the symbol and go back to the Scene, and play back the full movie in the main timeline, the symbol won't show the animation. I did this in 2 separate working files and deleted the symbol off the screen and brought it back in (with the animation - I checked it and it is there in the symbol editor!)

But, when I go to Publish Preview or view the swf file, it works.  Why is that?  Shouldn't I be able to view the animated symbols on the main timeline with the rest of the layers of the movie??

• 1. Re: animated symbol won't work in timeline but works when you publish?
          David Stiller Level 2

crosinski421,

It sounds like the tentacle animation occurs inside a movie clip symbol, when you might want to do it inside a graphic symbol instead.  Ultimately, it's up to you, but there's a big difference in the way these two symbols operate.  Both have timelines, but movie clip timelines run independently of the timeline the'yre in.  In the authoring tool, you won't see a movie clip's inner timeline play out until you publish the SWF (as you've seen) or enter that symbol's timeline.