1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 11, 2009 7:59 AM by the_wine_snob

PE4 - Data restore - lost links for  a project

Let me start by stating that I am a newbie at Premiere and video editing in general.  I recently had a hard disk failure, but lucky for me I did have a backup.  When I restored my data, much of the file structure was lost, even though I have the files.  I was in the midst of working on a large PE3 project and had all of my clips edited, sorted etc and was about to laydown the music tracks.  Then the hard drive failure.

Now I can fid all of the raw footage, I can even find the Adobe project files.  When I open the project files, it cannot link to the clips.

I am simply in over my head trying to restore this so that I do not have to start over.

Any assistance is appreciated.  I would even be willing to engage someone on a consultation basis.

Thanks,

Michael...Atlanta

• 1. Re: PE4 - Data restore - lost links for  a project
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Michael,

What I would do would be to create a folder structure [Filemane=Project name] for your Project with your .PREL (Project file) in the root of that structure. Sub-folders would be Video, Audio, Stills, etc.. Place your AV files into the Video sub-folder. Do all of the "gathering" first.