12 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2009 1:20 PM by Curt Wrigley

definition of terms

Kent Jakusz

Excuse me but I am new to video editing and have basic questions

1. Where can I find a definition of terms used;  anamorphic, pixel aspect ratio for video, stills. I have tried google and the explainations are not pertinent to this program or so involved that I have trouble understanding how it applies.

Currently I am trying to determine what sequence settings are applicable for my footage.

thanks

Kent

• 1. Re: definition of terms
          Jim_Simon Level 8

This may not be the popular answer, but my own viewpoint here is that things of this type are best learned while earning a degree in video production.

First learn, then do.  That you're here asking this question indicates you're trying to skip (or at at least shortcut) step one, which is something I generally advise against for those wanting to use an editor at the Premiere Pro level.

• 2. Re: definition of terms
            tclark513 Level 3

Look in the Premiere Pro cs4 Help guide.  It will spell out everything you want to know as far as terms go.

• 3. Re: definition of terms
              Eddie Lotter Level 4

Welcome to the forums.

A glossary will explain terms to you.

You will also find links to many free tutorials in the PremiereProPedia that will quickly show you how things are done in Premiere Pro.

Cheers
              Eddie

• 4. Re: definition of terms
                the_wine_snob Level 9

Eddie,

Neat! I always thought that the manual should have had a full glossary. Thanks for posting the link.

Even with a degree in cinematography, I had to learn a new language, just so I could use Help and ask questions here.

To the OP,