3 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2009 3:12 AM by Paul_LS

New to Premier elements

Hello everyone,

As you may have guessed I am new to Premier elements. I am wanting to record video from my sony Handycam which is in 8mm tape format. The camcorder is a CCD-trv15 NTSC model. I know enough that I can't connect the camera directly to the computer and download via premier elements. I have been able to connect it to my video card which is a ATI All in Wonder Radeon 7500. I have learned that Premier elements likes to use AVI format to do editing. I do have many choices as far as video format to record the video onto my harddrive using the video card. I have tried several. Some with what seems to be good results until I burn a dvd using elements. I used AVI VGA Resolution (640x480 , 29.97 FPS UYVY video format). The video plays on a standard dvd player but it seems real jittery when the camera shot is moving. Almost like the picture is trying to catch up with the frame. If the camera shot is still it looks fine. When moving the camera it is a real trick on the eyes.

My question is what would be the best way to get my videos to my harddrive and then to dvd with what I have. I would like to buy a new HD camcorder but with the economy the way it is, well you may be in the same boat. I plan on buying the book for premier elements soon, but any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dave Stelle

My email is Steelecurtain@comcast.net is anyone wants to contact me that way.

• 1. Re: New to Premier elements
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

The best advice I can give you is that, if you plan to edit with Premiere Elements DO NOT capture with that All in Wonder card. It's a primitive capture device, and none of the formats it captures as will work in Premiere Elements without conversions or problems.