9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2009 1:26 AM by Paul_LS

dvd play back on Tv is 4:3 , also poor  playback quality

I recently purchased a jvc everio HDD, Along with that I purchased elements 7.  I am having many issues with the software. I am new to editing but have researched all the posts and done alot of home work. I have read the all the post about mod files. But I am more confused

Issue one... When I burn a dvd and play it back on any dvd player the video is compressed back to a 4:3 aspect. I have noticed that the video is squeezed and everything appears to be skinny when viewing.

To clarify , My camera films in 16:9 ratio. When I set up My new project I choose . Hard disk/widescreen (this setting say it is for video files produced by jvc everio). When Ii am done I choose burn/dolby widescreen.

when I import my video clips to my pc, it saves them as mov.files. which I understand is a quicktime format... is this causeing the issue.

I was convinced it was a camera issue. So I burnt some clips using my pc burner program and played them on my tv and they were in 16:9 and played just fine and the video looked amazing..

~~~~~~~~~~

Issue two.... When I bring my video's in I loose alot of quality.  Also my clips hae glitches in them , some are green clitches and others are neg art of other clips . I played back on my media player ,these glitches are not there.

~~~~~~~~~

Issue three..... When I import my clips , the PRE viewer is very pixelly ( like really bad webcam bad) it is so bad that I actually took the sony camcorder back, thinking that the issue was my camera. I then exchanged for the jvc..... I have watched many utube tutorials on youtube... and have been able to see that the players are not as pixelly as mine....

Help....... I am so frustrated with purchaseing software and having problems.

• 1. Re: dvd play back on Tv is 4:3 , also poor  playback quality
          Paul_LS Level 4