9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2009 12:41 PM by TimeRemapper

preparing for iTunes - Betas???

fredo viola

Hi all,

So I'm a multi-media artist and my label has just released a body of my work in France and on most of iTunes around the world. Everything sounds great, but my videos LOOK HORRID on iTunes!  I can't understand it, as I have delivered to them digital files most of which have 1080p HD resolution.  We have tried uploading twice, the first time it just looked so jaggy, the second time a tad less jaggy but sped up. 

So I just got word from the label, the problem must have occured with the house that sent iTunes the Betas.   BETAS?!  These videos were prepared not for Beta tape but to remain digital on the internet. 

So my question is, to anyone who has had experience dealing with iTunes, is that always necessary to give them Beta tape?  Can't we prepare iTunes files and just send them those?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Warmest regards,

Fredo Viola

• 1. Re: preparing for iTunes - Betas???
          TimeRemapper Level 4

Hey Fredo!

Nice to see you back on the forum.

Apple has some very specific guidelines about how their media is to be uploaded for the iTunes store.

You don't have to have your work laid-off to tape, and then redigitized. That's nonsense.

You may want to check out Apple's requirements page, and encode the file yourself using Compresser, Squeeze, QTPro (although, Compressor does a much better job).

If you follow the general guidelines for the iPhone/iPod Touch/Apple TV, you should be in business:

We've encoded 1080p footage down to their specs, and it's come out looking decently (via Compressor).

Or, does the label not want you to provide the encoded file?