10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2009 1:28 PM by Peter Flynn (Adobe)

CREATIVE SUITE

knave19

Hello,

Just a couple of questions....

1) I personally never have and probably won't work with Flex in the short future. (I hope that changes!). I currently work in the 'print' field focusing on layout and illustration. I do however design some sites and have to stress over who will program/code them. Sometimes the budget doesn't allow another salary, so I have to do my best to code it myself. I have normally chosen to work with Flash because I feel it is better geared for a visual artist. So my question is will Flash Catalyst offer any benefits to me, even though I never work with Flex?

2) If Catalyst is geared towards the designer, will it be included in the design Creative suite? Perhaps replacing Flash or dreamweaver?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: CREATIVE SUITE
          Mordy Golding Level 3

1. You don't have to use Flex, nor even think about it. I too have a print background and for me, Flash Catalyst is all about using my familiar design apps (Illustrator, Photoshop, etc) to create art, and then quickly turning it into a functional SWF without having to write any code. From what you describe, it sounds like Flash Catalyst will be useful to you. The only "added benefit" of having Flex "in the background" is that if a day should come when you need a developer to do some work with your stuff, they can do so without any issue.