8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 21, 2009 3:11 PM by The-Face

Veiwing a PDf using Activex Direct to stage

The-Face

I'm new to Director, and to the scripting side especially. I have managed to complete all of my project except for when I get to a point I need to be able to have the users click on a button and have a PDF load in the PDF's Activex sprite. This is the code I have attached to the button:

on mouseup

sprite(17).src = the moviePath &"OSME.pdf"

end

When they click on the button, nothing happens, any ideas on why this wouldnt be loading?

Thanks!

Tim

• 1. Re: Veiwing a PDf using Activex Direct to stage
          Sean_Wilson Adobe Community Professional

First: are you sure the button is receiving the mouseUp message?

on mouseUp

alert "mouseUp"

sprite(17).src = the moviePath & "OSME.pdf"

end

If the button is a Flash Component, you may need to change 'on mouseUp' to 'on click' (or set the eventPassMode of the member to #passAlways)

Next: are you sure sprite(17) holds your AX control at the moment this code runs?

on mouseUp

alert "mouseUp:" && sprite(17).member.type

sprite(17).src = the moviePath & "OSME.pdf"

end

Finally: are you sure the PDF exists at the path you are providing? The easiest way to determine whether a file exists is to use a 3rd-party xtra that implements a method to test this. Something like FileXtra4, Buddy API or even PRegEx. You could also use the built-in FileIO xtra, but this makes harder work of it than it needs to. Try the first couple of suggestions before pursuing this one further.

• 2. Re: Veiwing a PDf using Activex Direct to stage
            The-Face Level 1

Hi Sean,

Thanks for the suggestions. I tried your codes, and made sure it was happening on mouse up, and  sprite 17 was the activex sprite (see attached file) But even still after I click ok to the alert box nothing happens.

I'm toying around with the Xtras you mentioned, but Im not sure how to install and use them (sorry, I'm really new at this)