3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2009 8:20 AM by the_wine_snob

Issues with WMV HD Editing & Newbie Questions

Hi,

I am new to PE7, so apologies if some of these have been asked b4, I searched but couldn't come up with direct solutions.

I mainly edit HD WMVs, raw HD videos and MPEGs, to be used on PCs and on the internet. Most used output would be HD 1280x720(wmv).

I am having problems with HD WMVs in PE7, they don't seem to play smoothly for editing, clipping etc(choppy and jumpy are the words that come to mind). At first, I thought this was a memory issue( I have 3 gigs on a Vista computer with a Dual Core processor), but then decided to try editing a couple of  HD MPEGs (same size) and these played smoothly, allowing be to make precise splits etc.

What would be the best setting for editing WMV HD files(as I said, mainly 1280x720 input and output)? I tried the HD and AVCHD settings(when starting the new project), no joy. Is there some way to tweak PE7, or adjust the settings when editing WMVs, or in general, is it best to import MPEGs?

Next question  - I am going to be doing quite a lot of editing over the next few months. Do people find Vista or XP more stable to use with PE7 and Premiere Pro and how much memory would be best for optimal perfomance? If I have to get an XP PC for editing, then that's what I'll have to do. Right now, I'm trying out PE7 and I'm sure I'll have to upgrade to Premiere Pro in a few months, so please bear that in mind.

Any other suggestions, tips and useful links, greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Issues with WMV HD Editing & Newbie Questions
          Paul_LS Level 4