18 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2010 9:34 PM by rubixchick19

(Help) Using Input text in Flash CS4 AS3

SecretSpider

I am trying to take a user's input (His Name) and then greet the user on the next frame using the name he previously entered. I googled for 2days and was unable to find a way to do this on flash CS4 AS3, i guess because im very new to flash (only 2-3weeks )
      Any help would be greatly appreciated, and i am sorry if this was already answered in the forums.
      thanks for reading.

• 1. Re: (Help) Using Input text in Flash CS4 AS3
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You essentially need to capture the user's entry and commit it to a globally accessible variable.  For the golbally accessible variable, you can use create one by having a timeline actions layer that extends the full length of the timeline and coding in the following in frame 1...

var hisName:String;

Then you need to assign the text the user entered into that variable.  This can be done either by coding a button to assign it or by monitoring the textfield for changes.  Let's say you give the textfield an instance name of userName.  Then whatever method you prefer for assigning the value would be...

hisName = userName.text;

And from that point forward, you can utilize the hisName variable when you want to use the name in some text box...

greeting.text = "Welcome "+hisName;

If you need more help, identify which version of actionscript you are using.  For any other coding help you might need for what's been described here, knowing that will be necessary.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: (Help) Using Input text in Flash CS4 AS3
            SecretSpider Level 1

Thanks alot ned.

What you said with the following code and when i control+enter it gives me 2 errors

stop();

btnEnterName.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,EnterName);

function EnterName (event:MouseEvent):void
            {
            hisName = EnterName.text;

}