1 Reply Latest reply on Apr 20, 2009 8:56 AM by David Stiller

Can Buttons Be Placed On Multiple Layers?

mlrenko Level 1

Yesterday I was working on a Flash document that uses four buttons on the home page. First, let me say that I am new to Flash CS4 and have only been using it for about two months. Anyway, I decided to have the buttons move across the screen as the page loads. I created a different layer for each button. Then I created four different motion tweens that move each button onto the background. This all looks great but I have not yet added any actionscipt to tell the buttons what to do. As I was driving to work this morning, I began thinking about have the buttons on their own layer. For some reason, I wondered if this would work? Somehow in my mind, it seemed like the buttons might have to be on the same layer and that the layer would have to be on "top" for the buttons to work. Will a button still work or be "clickable" if it is on a lower layer? This is all new to me and maybe I am thinking too three dimensionally and it is making things more complex than they need be!  Thanks!

• 1. Re: Can Buttons Be Placed On Multiple Layers?
          David Stiller Level 2

mlrenko,

Layer position doesn't necessarily affect the "clickability" of button symbols.  As a general rule, what matters is whether or not the button is obscured.  For example, if you position a button's layer lower in the stack -- and if doing so places the behind behind some other element -- that might keep the button from working, but even that depends on a couple of factors, including what version of ActionScript you're using and whether or not the asset above (the one that obscures) is also programmed to intercept mouse interaction.