9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2009 7:14 PM by the_wine_snob

System spec help

I have recently purchased the Master Collection CS4 and now need a decent PC. I'm purchasing for the company I work for and am limited to DELL...

I am not a graphic designer or pro video guy. I'll never make a full lengeth movie. 90% of what I need to do is take 1 hour videos of training sessions, trim/edit footage, render out video file, make DVD of video. I have been doing this with a crappy laptop and $100 software for about 4 years and I have finally convinced them to let me get a new PC. The bellow specs hit at about our budget, but I have some room if this is not sufficient for my needs.

So I am looking at the following:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 (2.83GHz, 12M, 1333MHz FSB)

8GB  800MHz Ram

512MB ATI RADEON HD4670

2 - 320GB HDs with 16MB DataBurst Cache

2 - 22" LCD

64-Bit Vista

My IT guy wants to get an OptiPlex 960. I think this would be OK, but the RAM would be maxed out at 8GB in an OptiPlex. Is that a real issue? This machine will be used only for the Adobe software.

Thanks in advance for your help!

• 1. Re: System spec help
          Jim_Simon Level 8

In the world of Premiere editing, your suggested specs would be considered a pretty high end system.  The only caveat would be to add additional drives.  An ideal minimum is a small System drive for Windows and Programs - 75 to 150 GB is more than enough.  320 Gb is serious overkill, because you do not want to put anything on this drive but the OS and programs.

Get a larger second drive for Projects/Scratch.  This one can be 320 or larger.

Get a third for Media.  This should be the largest drive, 500Gb or above depending on how many simultaneous projects you intend to work on.

• 2. Re: System spec help
            Harm Millaard Level 7

This sounds good. 8 GB max is not an issue.

• 3. Re: System spec help
              Level 1