2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 24, 2009 9:56 AM by Zadajin

Can I create a keypress that relates to a counter?

Zadajin

Hello, I am relatively new to flash and my lack of knowledge in actionscript is slowing me down. Help would be greatly appreciated

I am making a game that utilizes a keypress to play a movie clip. It runs perfectly but I am trying to add to the script. After twenty key presses play a different movie.

In case that doesn't make sense this is a little more in depth description, The game is a boxing game and when Key "0" is pressed a movie clip plays(showing the boxer punching) that part is fine. I am trying to have it to where after Key "0" is pressed 20 times, it will que a movie clip to kick in(the boxer that is being punched will fall down). I hope this makes sense.

• 1. Re: Can I create a keypress that relates to a counter?
          mkayyali Level 1

Hey Zadajin,

do yo mean something like this:

//Start here

var counter:Number = 0;

var keyListener:Object = new Object();

keyListener.onKeyDown = function() {

var listen:Number = Key.getCode();

if (listen == 96) {

counter++;

if (counter<=20) {

ball_mc.play();

} else {

trace("GAME OVER");

}

}

};

Key.addListener(keyListener);

//End here

ball_mc: is a movieclip include ball movement and when you pressed 0 ( zero ) for 20 times it will alert you be Game over

listen == 96: is the zero code in keyboard, you can trace(Key.getCode()) to know each button's code.

I hope to be this useful for you, good luck

preview attached

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Can I create a keypress that relates to a counter?
            Zadajin Level 1

Hmm that definitly seems to be on the right track. I didn't see you attached a file at first. It is currently queued and I cannot download it. I am not sure if the file has expired or what. I'm new to the forum so maybe there is some way I go about downloading the file I dont know about so if that is the case please let me know