8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2009 10:48 PM by Gregory Lafrance

HTTPService - GET and POST in Flex

Gregory Lafrance Level 6

I'm sending JSON data to a PHP script on the server, and I'm a bit new to the server side stuff so I'm hoping you all can answer a few questions.

1) I thought using POST was more secure than GET, as GET sends parameters with the URL, but when I send by post, spaces are replaced with %20, so is my data really being sent by POST, or GET?

2) I thought I had heard that under certain conditions you might send data by POST, but due to a bug Flex actually sends the data by GET. What are the conditions under which this happens?

3) How can I send usernames and passwords using HTTPS in Flex using HTTPService. I assume I should use HTTPS as it is supposed to be secure.

4) I've been messing around with PHP to process the data on the server, but quite frankly, working with PHP seems really difficult. I get the data, a PHP print says its an object, but object notataion ->  => does not seem to work. I've used PHP methods to get the object "keys", and also done a little with processing PHP arrays, but it still seems like PHP does not make it easy on you. Anything better for more easily transferring data securely between Flex and MySQL?

Thanks very much in advance!

Greg

• 1. Re: HTTPService - GET and POST in Flex
          Michael Borbor Level 4

Use ColdFusion Greg. There isn't anything simpler than that.

• 2. Re: HTTPService - GET and POST in Flex
            Michael Borbor Level 4

Although if you're using Flex / PHP, the Zend Framework will help you

overcome those situations because when using the Zend Framework you'll be

using Remote Objects.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: HTTPService - GET and POST in Flex
              Gregory Lafrance Level 6

Is ColdFusion a secure way for transferring passwords and other sensitive data as well?

• 4. Re: HTTPService - GET and POST in Flex
                Michael Borbor Level 4