3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2009 9:30 PM by Bob Dix Photographer-E0Nmzu

To Render or not to Render

Joe Chott

I am new to Premiere, so bear with me please.

In looking through the forums and the documentation, it looks like some video imports as red, some as yellow, some as green (when placed on the timeline).

Apparently there is hardware out there that works to help make everything green.  Rendering a preview will make everything green.

But is there some way that I can take 5D Mk II video, and either convert it to something else or, failing that, permanently render?  I want to be able to save a project and come back to it and have everything playable without me having to re-render it every time.

1. I have tried using just the plain output files from my camera.  I get jerky playback unless I render it first

2. I have tried importing my camera files into Quicktime Pro, and then exporting at mp4.  I get jerky playback unless I render it first.

3. I tried importing my camera files into CineForm Neo Scene , and exporting using their user guide.  The resulting files crash Premiere on import.  I can't do anything with them at all.

So at this moment, my best workflow seems to be to import the camera files as is into Premiere, render them, and then begin work.  This takes EONS for any significant amount of video.  Is there any faster alternative?

Thanks,

-Joe Chott

• 1. Re: To Render or not to Render
          Curt Wrigley Level 4

PLease read this thread that discusses the same issue in detail...

How to transcode Canon 5D mark II H.264 video into something editable?

Pr doesnt like the native format very much.

• 2. Re: To Render or not to Render
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Joe,