13 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2010 10:12 AM by beardjeff

Incredibly simple question re: calculated field script

Greetings all!  I have what's probably the simplest question, but I'll be darned if I can find an answer here or online.  Here goes.

I have an extremely simple form...it has approx. 50 names pre-entered/printed, and there's 3 form fields.  The first two are labeled P and G, and they're setup as P1 and G1 for the first person, P2 and G2 for the next, and so on.  My third field is labeled A (1 through 50, like the other fields), and this field is to calculate P divided by G.  Simple, right?  ALL fields are formatted as numbers, right-aligned.  So, I tried a simple Javascript of (G1/P1), which works, but upon "entering" the form, I get that annoying Java popup about the field formats not matching.

So, I ask, what is the simplest script I can use that works, without the popup?  I'm an admitted novice at this.

Many thanks in advance!!!

• 1. Re: Incredibly simple question re: calculated field script
          MarkWalsh Level 4

Where do the values come from in P & G? If P is empty in any of your fields, you're dividing by zero.

• 2. Re: Incredibly simple question re: calculated field script
            Level 1

P and G are integers entered by the user...whole, positive, numbers; no decimals.

I kinda figured that with no values entered in P and/or G, this divide by zero would be a problem...how do I remedy this?

Again, P and G are simple numbers--12345, 123, etc.  Fields are blank prior to being keyed in by the user.

Here's an admittedly simple view:

Name               P               G               A

John Doe     _______     _______     _______

Jane Smith  _______     _______     _______

As indicated above, P, G, and A are formatted as Number/Decimal Places-0/Right Aligned.

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Incredibly simple question re: calculated field script
              MarkWalsh Level 4