3 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2009 9:07 PM by Dlanor52

Advice on What/What Not To Buy

Dlanor52

Hi Forum,

I am new to Adobe Photoshop.  I downloaded a trial version of PSE7 two weeks ago and downloaded a trial version of Premiere Elements 7 (PRE) last night.  I use a HP Pavilion Laptop 1.66 GHz Intel R Core TM 2 CPU w 2 GB of RAM.  I also have a Dell Dimension DIM4700 Desktop Pentium (R) 4CPU 3.40 GHz w 1.00 GB RAM.  I am thinking about expanding the RAM on the Dell Desktop to 2 or 4 GB as needed.  I don't plan on shifting to Apple at this time, in spite of what my semi-pro, "imagist" friend recommends.

Both Photoshop trial versions are loaded on my HP Laptop.  I am running Internet Explorer 8 in compatibility mode on both computers.

I am an inexperienced user of photo editing software.  I have a "trunk full" of old photo prints that I will be sorting/scanning in the next year or two.  I also have about 3000 electronic images that I am or will be working.  I am currently working some family reunion slideshows and mother's/father's day projects.  I have used PowerPoint extensively and have done about 20 minor projects using Windows Movie Maker 2 [which by the way works pretty good -with my novice skills].

I also have a JVC digital video camera w 16X optical zoom.  I have shot about 1 hr of video with it, but I will be shooting much more in the near future (reunions, vacations, holidays etc.).  I expect to create video family history projects for my 3 sons and 1 daughter and numerous grandchildren with another grandson due in May.

With that said, I have a few questions.  (Note: I am educated enough to feel comfortable asking "stupid questions" so don't be too surprised!)

Question 1:     Must we have PSE7 installed in order to use PRE?