17 Replies Latest reply on May 8, 2009 8:08 AM by fishging

Laptop Recommendations for Premiere Pro CS4

Hey everyone...Newbie here!

Will be getting my hands on the CS4 Master Collection next week.  I work for a local church, and we will be using the software...mostly Premiere Pro to edit videos no longer than our weekend service (1hr 30mins).  However, these edits will be extremely basic.  Bumpers at the beginning and end...maybe a couple of lower 3rds.

The majority of my work will be confined to very short projects (5 mins or less)...to review missions work, community service projects, commercials and announcements for the above mentioned...

So...with that little bit of back story...we have decided to purchase a laptop for me to spend the next 12 months getting my feet wet on the system.  We will then invest more finances into a more permanent desktop system.

We don't want to skimp on the laptop either, though.  Below are a couple of options we are considering.  Any feedback would be GREATLY appreciated!

Macbook Pro

17", 2.66Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB DDR3, 320GB 7200RPM HDD, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M/9600 GT w/ 512MB

HP HDX18t

18.4" HD Screen, Intel Core 2 Quad 2.00Ghz, 8GB HDDR3, 640GB 7200RPM Hard Drive, 1GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 130, Blu-Ray ROM

Not trying to start a platform war...simply trying to make an informed decision based on the needs of CS4 and our uses.  Thanks again!

Jonathan

• 1. Re: Laptop Recommendations for Premiere Pro CS4
          Harm Millaard Level 7

I would advise AGAINST a laptop, because for proper editing you need at least 3 hard disks, one for OS/programs, one for media and one for scratch/exports. Better go directly for the desktop you envisage. I would also suggest to go for an i7 CPU which is currently the "best bang for the buck".