9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2009 5:23 PM by kglad

Help Please.

aperf8ectcircle

This is probably a stupid question...

I'm having a problem with making buttons disappear after a selection is made and a imported movie play.

I am a student and created some motion graphics in After Effects for a project. I am trying to create a menu in flash where there are only buttons on a page - and clicking each one will take you to a video, and after the video plays - goes back to the screen with the buttons. I'm used to working in AE and am finding the timeline in Flash confusing!

I imported my video into Flash as a FLV file and converted it to a movie clip, and have it in its own layer on frame 1 on the timeline. Then I created the 5 buttons and have them in another layer on frame 1. I them created an actions layer above all the layers and entered the following script:

selectingyears_mc.stop();

function playMovie(event:MouseEvent):void

{

selectingyears_mc.play();

}

playall_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, playMovie);

When I play the movie, the buttons stay floating above it, which I don't want. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Neal

• 1. Re: Help Please.
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1.  put your buttons on frame 1 of the main timeline with a stop().  don't import your flv file into the flash ide.

2.  for each of your buttons, assign a source or contentPath variable that indicates the flv file to stream, and have your buttons direct the main timeline to another keyframe (say 5), where you have an flvplayback component and assign its source or contentPath to the variable defined by the button.  also, use a complete listener to detect when the flv completes play and, when it does, direct the main timeline back to frame 1.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Help Please.
            aperf8ectcircle Level 1

Thank you very much for your help.