5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 20, 2010 10:42 AM by Rick Gerard

'Vector' Distortions when exporting to widescreen in AE CS3

tomcrielly

Hi

I'm sure this is probably quite a simple issue, but i am new to AE and cannot find the answer to this anywhere. Basically i am exporting my compositions to use as widescreen for DVD. The exported video footage looks fine but any non-video elements used seem to 'quiver and shake' - examples of this are AE text, imported jpg logos and vector lines created and masked from within AE. I accidentally exported as best settings on one occasion rather than DV - this gave me a 'squarer' video file but it did render the  'distorting elements' perfectly.  This is also the case when i export as a flv. file - wrong proportions but quality render of the 'distorting elements'. As an aside, is it possible to export the composition as a widesceen flv file?

The settings i am using are detailed below (at default settings)

Render setting is DV settings and my chosen outpout module is Microsoft DV PAL 48khz, my composition settings are Preset: PAL D1/DV Widescreen (720 x 576)   PAR: D1/DV PAL Widesceen (1.42) and the Frame Aspect Ratio is 16:9.

As i said i am new to this so it well be that i am not using the best settings for this task.

Thanks in advance for any help that can be given, Tom

• 1. Re: 'Vector' Distortions when exporting to widescreen in AE CS3
          TimeRemapper Level 4

Hey Tom.

How are you viewing your rendered DV footage?

On a computer monitor? Via Quicktime, or another application?

Oftentimes, the DV codec will display poorly on a computer monitor, but look fine when output to a broadcast monitor/TV.

In QT, you can enable the "high quality" setting, which may help, but DV is DV at the end of the day.

If your final destination is DVD (mpeg2), then you'll have to transcode your lossy DV footage to yet another lossy format in the future.