10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2009 6:22 AM by Steve Kale

New Features of  ACR 5.x versus 4.6

Steve Kale Level 1

Last night I waded through this 40 minute overview of ACR 5.x:

http://tv.adobe.com/#vi+f1483v1647

While helpful in overviewing the new editing features, it didn't answer my basic question.

Firstly, I am not a retouch house or a commercial photographer.  I am an amateur enthusiast (albeit with good kit).  I typically edit photos one at a time and so many of the workflow enhancements that have been introduced in recent years, while useful, aren't critical to me.

I have investigated the benefits of capture sharpening in RAW and buy the arguments.  I understand from this discussion, though, that these benefits are already available to me with CS3:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/424966?tstart=0

My first question relates to the new editing features in 5.x versus 4.6.  Are there materials benefits to image quality as a result of using these editing features in RAW rather than editing in PS?  (Again, I am only asking in respect of the new features and in relation to image quailty rather than workflow benefits.)

My second question relates to benefits, if any, related to the new RAW conversion engine.  I have installed the camera "profiles" from the latest 5.x version and have these available for use in 4.6 (albeit I think this may be somewhat flawed in that the profiles will have been made using the new RAW conversion engine rather than the old one).  I used to profile my 1Ds II using AcrCalibrator but I now understand I can use DNG Profile Editor to do the same thing.

What benefits could I expect from the RAW conversion in 5.x?  (I recognise that I likely have to invest some time with the trial version but it would be greatly helpful to first have an overview of what to expect.)

Regards

Steve

• 1. Re: New Features of  ACR 5.x versus 4.6
          John Joslin Level 6

1. If, as you imply, you have CS3, you can't use ACR 5.x anyway!