5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2009 1:08 PM by Barna Biro

Flex app as MovieClip?

vtatai

I have a somewhat odd requirement for my application in that it should be an Adobe Flash movie extending the class flash.display.MovieClip class. I know it is possible to do this using CS4 Flash, but is it possible to do it using Flex?

I am a beginner in Flex, so bear with me...

Thanks a lot,

Victor

• 1. Re: Flex app as MovieClip?
          Barna Biro Level 3

Hi Victor,

When you say "Flex" do you mean an actual Flex project or you're referring to an ActionScript project created in Flex Builder? In case you are talking about an actual Flex project then I'm affraid that the answer is no. The main file for a Flex project should always extend the class Application.

With best regards,

Barna Biro

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Flex app as MovieClip?
            vtatai Level 1

Thanks for the quick answer Barna, yes I guess it could be an ActionScript project using Flex Builder, but then would I be able to use Flex Builder to edit the GUI part of my app? Or, is there a way to "call" a Flex application from ActionScript?

Thanks again,

Victor

• 3. Re: Flex app as MovieClip?
              Barna Biro Level 3

Hi again,

To be honest, I never even thought of trying to call a Flex GUI from a ActionScript project but I'm quite sure that it's not really possible. Althought Flex is based on ActionScript 3.0, Flex projects behave and work quite differently from ActionScript projects ( just think of components: you can't use a Flex specific component in a Flash CS4 file athought it's still ActionScript 3.0 we are talking about ).