6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2009 6:51 PM by Sean_Wilson

Can I do this in Director: Conditional-type survey/recommendations?

yankeeschick

Sorry for the un-descriptive title --- wasn't sure quite how to describe what I'm trying to do.

I want to create an interactive Director presentation that will guide a user in selecting a product from a set list. The user will answer a short series of questions and then be presented with a list of recommendations based on their answers.

Let's say I wanted to create something to help a person select the right cell phone from a list of 15 available models. Is it possible to create something where I could ask the user a series of 5 simple yes/no questions like "Do you plan to text and email often on your cell phone?", "Are multimedia tools like a music player important to you?", etc and then automatically present a list of phones that match up with their responses?

Sorry this is so poorly-worded. I am new to Director and only know the very basics of Lingo so any suggestions would be much-appreciated!

Thank you

• 1. Re: Can I do this in Director: Conditional-type survey/recommendations?
          Sean_Wilson Adobe Community Professional

What you're asking for is manageable with Director, but you need to put some flesh on the bones of your logic, largely around the questions asked making your selection pool narrower. It sounds like something suited to a database, but whether that needs to be a fully fledged DB or a lingo list I can't say.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Can I do this in Director: Conditional-type survey/recommendations?
            yankeeschick Level 1

Sean, thanks for the input.

I'm not quite sure what you're advising the next step to be though. Would it help if I further described the exact questions the users will be presented with?

• 3. Re: Can I do this in Director: Conditional-type survey/recommendations?
              Applied CD Level 1

Hey Yankee,