6 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2009 1:17 PM by Panoholic

DNG and long term data integrity

greg_d128

I am using DNG format as my archival format. I am planning to keep my photos alive for a long time (as long as I am alive certainly). I have a pretty good backup / redundancy setup created (mirror disk, copied to 3rd disk once a month, that copied to LTO3 tape and keeping last 3 months worth of tape). I am concerned about silent data corruption.

I am a system administrator in my day job, so I am somewhat knowledgable about data corruption and redundancy. According to the research at CERN (http://cern.ch/Peter.Kelemen/talk/2007/kelemen-2007-C5-Silent_Corruptions.pdf link to presentation), drives right now do not notify us of all possible corruption of data. Trying to preserve a large archive for 20 - 30 - 50? years we need to have a strategy for dealing with data corruption.

The best solution I can see is to extend the DNG standard to provide optional ability to recover from errors (possibly in various strength levels). For an archival format, I see that as a must have.

Greg

• 1. Re: DNG and long term data integrity
          Ramón G Castañeda Level 4

Greg,

I see no problem with your perspective as long as you keep the original raw, PSD and TIFF files.

Quite frankly, I'm not concerned with my ability to open my raw (supported by Photoshop and ACR), PSD and TIFF files during my lifetime.  If anything, I question wheter, in the long run, only Adobe applications may support DNG files to the bitter end.  I'm guessing it will all depend on whether Nikon and Canon follow the example of Pentax and others in supporting in-camera generated DNG files.

On a side note, I found that "silent corruption" is attributable to IT administrators in nearly all cases.  < ducking and running >

• 2. Re: DNG and long term data integrity
            greg_d128 Level 1

Thanks for a very prompt reply.