23 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2009 2:43 PM by Ned Murphy

Horizontal Scrollbar in AS2

Wilson R.

Hi Forum,

I am new to ActionScript, and I have been given this project where the code is in AS2.  That being said, here's my problem:

I am trying to code up the scrollbar I have created so that it moves and makes the content on top to pan with it.  I just can't seem to wrap my head around it though.  I've been able to make the buttons and content work well, but no luck with the scrollbar.  If anybody could provide some help, it would really be appreciated.  Here is the link to what I am talking about so that you can get a visual idea.

http://www.wilsonrosariojr.com/city/flash.html

Again, this project is in ActionScript 2.0

I have been trying to see if this topic has already been posted, but couldn't find anything.  If a thread does exist, could someone point me there?  Thanks in advance.

Wilson-

• 1. Re: Horizontal Scrollbar in AS2
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

the basis of a scrollbar is that:

1.  when the dragger is at one extreme position, the item scrolled will be at an extreme position

2.  when the dragger is at the other extreme position, the scrolled item will be at the other extreme position.

3.  you're going to create a linear equation that determines the scrolled items position as a function of the dragger's position.

those 3 facts gives you 2 equations in 2 unknowns.  you solve for the unknowns and you have your linear equation and can, for each position of the dragger, determine the corresponding position of the scrolled item.

scrolledItem._x = unknown1 * dragger._x + unknown2;

to solve for unknown1 and unknown2, use 1 and 2:

findParamsF(draggerPosX1,scrolledItemPosX1,draggerPosX2,scrolledItemPosX2);

function findParamsF(x1,y1,x2,y2){

unknown1 = (y1-y2)/(x1-x2);

unknown2 = y1 - unknown1*x1;

}

• 2. Re: Horizontal Scrollbar in AS2
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP