5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2009 6:24 AM by Gregory Lafrance

Regarding extracting data from xml to Flex application

WelcomeSurya

Hi All,

This is surya, i am new to flex.Here my quection is How can i extract data from xml file in local system to our flex application,is it possible or not.But i know how to extract data from xml file placed in source folder of perticuler project.please provide me answer asap.

Thanks .

Best Regards,

surya.

• 1. Re: Regarding extracting data from xml to Flex application
          Richard_Abbott Level 3

Surya,

as a rule Flex cannot access items in the client's local file system so if I am understanding your problem correctly you cannot do what you want. If on the server then no problem, as you have mentioned, but not on the client. You could swap to an Air application but then you would be requiring your users to download the app and run locally rather than run in the browser.

Richard

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Regarding extracting data from xml to Flex application
            WelcomeSurya Level 1

Thank u,

You mean we are unable to access data from local files at run time in flex applications,is right? but suppose at the time of integration of flex application with webdynpro are any other how to pass the required information,for example i am extracting rooms data from xml this xml and pass to list in MXMl component.This XML file is placed source folder of flex project at the time of run this application in Flex builder but i want to use this flex application SWF File in Webdynpro for java(means integration flex and wendynpro).how can i pass this rooms data to list .

Is there any alternative for this please provide me answer asap.

Best Regards,

surya.

• 3. Re: Regarding extracting data from xml to Flex application
              Richard_Abbott Level 3

Surya,