5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 12, 2008 5:48 PM by Newsgroup_User

file help required / novice user

marcie_tyl
      I really need some help, pls! I am a novice user, having inherited a website and have tried to learn Dreamweaver by myself. Lots of trial and error!
      Spent the day yesterday downloading a trial Adobe version 9 so that I could downsize pdf files, as well as downloading a program to downsize jpegs, which don't seem to load into Dreamweaver in thumbnail size anyways.....I mention these only because they're the only things that changed between my last logon to Dreamweaver.....I have no idea if they relate or not; thought I'd cover all bases because I'm FRUSTRATED!

Now, when I log in to Dreamweaver and connect to the host I can only see my local file -- I am not able to toggle between Remote and Local because there is no option to, and there are no "Put" or "Refresh" icons. Something does look different I think (I'm sorry if I sound like a total idiot.....). When I click on the button beside the Manage Sites link, it seems to me that the line that states the website name looks different than before: it has a pic of 2 computers, then ftp://, followed by the website name.....

HOW do I gain access again to the Remote files so that I am working on the server and not just locally??? I just want it to look and work the same as it always has!!!! I need to update the site!

Thanks so much!
        • 1. Re: file help required / novice user
          Level 7
          > FRUSTRATED

We can see this - but I'm at a loss to understand what it is you are trying
          to do here. Can you say more?

> I am not able to toggle between Remote and Local because there is
          > no option to, and there are no "Put" or "Refresh" icons

You have defined a DW site, right? And you have specified both your local
          root folder, and the FTP connection properties of the Remote server?

> it has a pic of 2 computers, then ftp://, followed by the website